top of page

A Slow Saturday


Self-care corner

I love the hustle and bustle of being an active mother. Soccer games, dance practices, club meetings, the fun never stops when you have two smaller people with big dreams and a lot of interests. This, however, takes a lot of energy and time.

Today's morning rising occurred before the voices of little people beckoning me to make them breakfast or the sounds of musical tunes from iPads. Instead, I was able to hear the soft sounds of the morning and enjoy a moment of solitude and silence. I was able to allow the fulfilling sound of silence warm the room. I welcomed the morning by monitoring my thoughts, gazing into a darkened sky and breathing in the soft, warm, peaceful air.

I find these moments so rejuvenating because they are rare. Taking time to enjoy them gives me the fuel that I need to continue to move forward through the day. As mothers, I know we are connected and committed to supporting our children. By nature, we are caretakers and givers and want to make sure everyone else's needs are met sometimes at the expanse of our own.

As a woman, it is my mission to always make myself a priority and to step away from the notion that being a mother means neglecting myself. It is essential for me to teach my daughters how to love and care for themselves by allowing them to watch me do it. In my life, that means creating balance, honoring my needs, and giving to myself daily.

I invite you to join me in this quest for finding this equilibrium by asking yourself a few soul seeking reflective questions...How are you introducing conversations of self-care and self-love to your children? Are you taking time to be present and attending to your needs?

I recommend that you ask yourself these questions daily. I am making it my mission to do the same. If you already have methods or things that you enjoy doing for yourself as a mother, parent or person, please share below. I look forward to your shared experiences.

Courtney

bottom of page